Check-In


Any Texas A&M University student who is not a U.S. Citizen or Lawful Permanent Resident is considered to be an international student. All international students are required to attend the International Student Check-In with ISS. The purpose of the International Student Check-In is to confirm that students have arrived in the U.S. and are complying with federal regulations. Prior to their arrival, all international students are blocked from course registration. Students must attend Check-In in order to have the registration hold removed.

All new international students (except those who will be fully enrolled at the English Language Institute) are required to complete the Online Orientation and an International Student Check-In before enrolling for their first semester. The exact process you will need to follow is determined by where you will be physically located while completing your academic program.
 
If you will be physically located within the Bryan/College Station area:
  1. You must complete the Online Orientation in order to access the Check-In registration system. English Language Institute (ELI) students are not required to complete the Online Orientation.
  2. You will schedule a Check-In appointment through the Event Registration System (ERS).
  3. Your Check-In will take place in person with ISS on the College Station campus.
  4. Your ISS registration hold will be removed during your ISS Check-In appointment.
 If you will be physically located at a Texas A&M campus that is OUTSIDE of the Bryan/College Station area:
  1. You must complete the Online Orientation before your registration hold will be removed.
  2. You will contact your campus liaison to arrange an in-person Check-In meeting on your campus. You are not required to travel to College Station or to use our online Check-In registration system.
  3. You will meet with your campus liaison to complete the Check-In.
  4. Your campus liaison will electronically submit your Check-In materials to ISS.
  5. Once your Check-In materials have been reviewed by ISS and you have completed the Online Orientation, then your ISS registration hold will be removed.
 If you will be enrolling as a Distance Learning student from inside the U.S.:
  1. You must complete the Online Orientation before your registration hold will be removed.
  2. Visit the Distance Learners section of the ISS webpage for more information.
 
If you will be enrolling as a Distance Learning student from outside the U.S.:
  1. You are not required to complete the Online Orientation.
  2. Visit the Distance Learners section of the ISS webpage for more information.
After completion of the Online Orientation, you will be able to register for a Check-In appointment. Students will not have access to register for Check-In until they have completed the Online Orientation. Please speak with your academic department before selecting a Check-In appointment to make sure that the appointment will not conflict with any departmental obligations. Further information about the Check-In registration process will be provided after the student completes the Online Orientation.

Registration for Summer and Fall 2017 Check-In : is now available. Check-In is intended for those students admitted to Texas A&M University for the Fall 2017 semester. Once you have completed the Online Orientation, follow the instructions below to register for a Check-In appointment:

Registration for most ISS events is done through the Event Registration System. After clicking on the link above, select “TAMU Login” and sign in with your NetID and Password. Under “Hosted By” locate International Student Services and click Filter Events. Locate the event called “Fall 2017 International Student Check-In” with the time slot that best fits your schedule. Lastly, select Register and complete the short registration form. You will receive a confirmation email once you have successfully scheduled your Check-In appointment.

All International Students will be able to view one Check-In event: “Fall 2017 International Student Check-In.” You will be able to select an appointment time for Early and Main Check-In.

PAV = Pavilion (Campus Map)
RT = Rudder Tower (Campus Map)
SCC = Student Computing Center (Campus Map)
ZEC = Zachry Engineering Center (Campus Map)
 Semester  Event Date  Location
Summer/Fall 2017 Early Check-In: Walk-In Monday, May 15, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, May 16, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, May 18, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, May 19, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, May 22, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, May 23, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, May 24, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, May 25, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, May 26, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Tuesday, May 30, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, May 31, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, June 1, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, June 2, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Monday, June 5, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Tuesday, June 6, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, June 7, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, June 8, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, June 9, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Monday, June 12, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Tuesday, June 13, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, June 14, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, June 15, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, June 16, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Monday, June 19, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, June 20, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, June 21, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, June 22, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, June 23, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, June 26, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, June 27, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, June 28, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, June 29, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, June 30, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, July 3, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Wednesday, July 5, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, July 6, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, July 7, 2017:
 
8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, July 10, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Tuesday, July 11, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Wednesday, July 12, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, July 13, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, July 14, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, July 17, 2017:
 
8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, July 18, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, July 19, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, July 20, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, July 21, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Monday, July 24, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, July 25, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, July 26, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, July 27, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Pavilion Room 110
Fall 2017 Early Check-In: ERS Registration.
July 28, 2017-August 13, 2017 and August 16th, 17th, 18th, 22nd, and 25th
 
Schedule an appointment at https://ers.tamu.edu/
 
Pavilion Room 110
Fall 2017 Main Check-In: ERS registration
Monday, August 14, 2017
Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
 
Schedule an appointment at https://ers.tamu.edu/
 
Student Computing Center, 2nd Floor
Fall 2017 Late Check-In: Walk-In Monday, August 28, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Tuesday, August 29, 2017: 
 8:30am-11:30am and
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017:  8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, August 31, 2017:
 1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, September 1, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am
Monday, September 4, 2017:   8:30am-11:30am
Tuesday, September 5, 2017:   1:30pm-4:30pm
Wednesday, September 6 2017:   8:30am-11:30am
Thursday, September 7, 2017:   1:30pm-4:30pm
Friday, September 8, 2017:
 8:30am-11:30am 
Pavilion Room 110
*** Check-In will take at least one hour to complete. Please do not arrive at Check-In until your assigned time. ***

Please go through The Mandatory Check-In Steps. These steps are to be completed on the day of check-in. Some of these steps can be done before check-in.

How to Prepare for Check-In:
  • Visit the Beutel Health Center to provide proof of tuberculosis screening.
  • If you have a job on-campus, make sure that you send a scanned copy of your job offer letter to iss@tamu.edu and include your full name and UIN or submit at the ISS front desk.
  • Familiarize yourself with Texas A&M University Health Insurance Requirements at ISS Health Insurance page.
  • Check the Howdy Portal for registration holds and try to resolve them before your Check-In appointment.
  • Update your emergency contact information as well as your foreign & local addresses on the Howdy Portal.
 
You must bring the following original documents with you to Check-In. An ISS staff member will scan the original documents during Check-In.

  • Original I-20/DS-2019 Certificate of Eligibility (stamped at the port of entry) for the student and any dependents
  • Original passport, visa, admissions stamp in passport, and electronic or paper I-94 card for the student and any dependents
  • Please visit following link to get your most recent I-94 : https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home
                     
                     
Bring the documents mentioned above as well as the following:
  • If you have not received an I-20 or DS-2019 from Texas A&M, please bring all documents pending with the Certificate of Eligibility Center (CEC), as listed in the Howdy Portal.
Bring all documents (if available) regarding your current immigration status, including any of the following:
  • Picture ID card
  • Passport, visa, electronic or paper I-94 card , I-797c Notice of Action
  • Please visit following link to get your most recent I-94 : https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home
  • I-20/DS-2019
  • Employment Authorization Card
New students who are dependents of a visa category other than F-1 must bring immigration documents for themselves as well as the primary visa holder (spouse or parent). Generally this includes the DS-2019, passport, visa, and electronic or paper I-94 card, admissions stamp in passport and/or I-797 c Notice of Action.

Please visit following link to get your most recent I-94 : https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home
New students who hold any other visa category should bring all documents related to their immigration status, including the passport, visa, and electronic or paper I-94 card, admissions stamp in passport and/or I-797c Notice of Action.
Please visit following link to get your most recent I-94 : https://i94.cbp.dhs.gov/I94/#/home

  • Volunteers are needed in order to help make this Check In a success! You do not have to be associated with Texas A&M University in order to volunteer for this event.
  • Volunteer tasks may include but are not limited to assisting with the attendee registration process, helping with updating their address, attendees navigate the venue. You are welcomed and encouraged to sign up for more than one timeslot below!
  • Overview Presentation Volunteer Registration for the Fall 2017 Check-In, for ISMA and ISA only. Click Here to Volunteer!
    • Reminder: You can register for multiple volunteer shifts. Please remember to hit “SAVE” at the bottom of the screen to register for that volunteer shift! If you have questions, email iss@tamu.edu
  • Volunteer Registration for Welcome Desk and Howdy Portal Station for the Fall 2017 Check-In: Click Here to Volunteer!